Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Are pesticides a good idea?

Are pesticides a good idea?

We farmers are responsible for a lot of land. Many of us treat our crops against insects. Why?

The system we all work with depends on insects, worms,beetles,bacteria, fungi, to remain productive.
    The only clever way for us to work is to understand the happy ballances, and not to try to kill every last living thing in our fields.

Yes, I'm an old hippie organic farmer living out in the wild north.But I am right.I have made a living on 150 acres of west shore land in Orkney for over 30 years.
    Why do any of you really have to sow pesticide-treated seeds or spray against leatherjackets or pollen beetles?

You should think before you kill the system you rely on.

Re: Are pesticides a good idea?

Nice provocative post, well done!

I'm sure someone will bite at some point although you are starting to sound like a walking advert for green activism rather than a farmer.
    Stay in Northamptonshire - meadowviewcottages.co.uk

I'm organic, can see your point but not sure I'd wholly agree with you. Organic will never feed to world, we produce a lifestyle product for those who wish to afford it!!

We have an unnatural number of people on the planet, so we have to employ unnatural agriculture to feed them.

Quote Originally Posted by jaliptrot View Post
    We farmers are responsible for a lot of land. Many of us treat our crops against insects. Why?

The system we all work with depends on insects, worms,beetles,bacteria, fungi, to remain productive.
    The only clever way for us to work is to understand the happy ballances, and not to try to kill every last living thing in our fields.

Yes, I'm an old hippie organic farmer living out in the wild north.But I am right.I have made a living on 150 acres of west shore land in Orkney for over 30 years.
    Why do any of you really have to sow pesticide-treated seeds or spray against leatherjackets or pollen beetles?