Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Double line broadband

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Holderness
    Posts
    655

    Double line broadband

    Does anyone know how you can join two landlines together to get faster broadband?

    Jack Caley

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Mersyside
    Posts
    105

    Re: Double line broadband

    The only thing I have heard being done is if you have a spare 'pair' coming from the cabinet to your house a friendly bt engineer may be persuaded to link these to the existing pair (if that makes sense) to provide a better line. Not sure if you can gain much though.

    HH

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Furness
    Posts
    40

    Re: Double line broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by The Happy Herdsman View Post
    The only thing I have heard being done is if you have a spare 'pair' coming from the cabinet to your house a friendly bt engineer may be persuaded to link these to the existing pair (if that makes sense) to provide a better line. Not sure if you can gain much though.

    HH
    They should check the pairs and swap you to the best

    Jim

  4. #4
    Senior Member T P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    The muddy edge of the biggest puddle in the uk
    Posts
    629

    Re: Double line broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack_Caley View Post
    Does anyone know how you can join two landlines together to get faster broadband?

    Jack Caley
    I'm afraid not otherwise I'd have done it long ago. It would seem to make sense but as yet there's no practical way to do it. Satellite is coming closer and closer to being the answer. There are viable setups out there but their pricing structure is still very cynical.

    https://www.satelliteinternet.co.uk/...es?zid=1&pid=4

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    277

    Re: Double line broadband

    bonding lines can be done although I have no personal experience of it
    you might get more information here https://evolving.net.uk/
    there are also modems available that will allow you to set them to run with more line noise allowing much faster speeds
    Last edited by defender; 10-11-14 at 12:40 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member v12cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    418

    Re: Double line broadband

    Quote Originally Posted by defender View Post
    bonding lines can be done although I have no personal experience of it
    you might get more information here https://evolving.net.uk/
    there are also modems available that will allow you to set them to run with more line noise allowing much faster speeds
    From their website:

    It involves bonding 2 or more ADSL lines, aggregating both the upload and download bandwidth into one single logical connection. By doing this, the connection becomes more resilient and much faster.
    Very interesting and given i've got 2 broadband lines, one of which I don't use as it's the slower, something worth considering.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    West Northants
    Posts
    1,169

    Re: Double line broadband

    I stumbled across Speedify the other day, I've no idea at all if it works, how it works, if it is safe or anything else but it may be of interest? Basically claims to marry broadband, 3G etc in to one single connection, appreciate it won't suit a lot of folks though. I don't know if it can join two lines though.

    There is also this which suggests that Windows is able to bridge two connections from separate lines (Windows 7 upwards) along with a couple of other options too. Again I've not tried any of them.
    Stay in Northamptonshire - meadowviewcottages.co.uk

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    M1 - M18 - M62 Triangle
    Posts
    703

    Re: Double line broadband

    We used to do this with ISDN lines, not sure if it works with ADSL
    There are more engines killed through lack of water than through lack of oil

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Leicestershire
    Posts
    31

    Re: Double line broadband

    You can bond to lines of adsl together using a Draytek dual Wan router. Draytek are a decent reliable brand of router, but the config/setup may be a bit tricky depending on your abilty.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    537

    Re: Double line broadband

    Can 'bond' two adsl lines with two routers and a passive switch. As said, configuration of them is the tricky part.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •