Thread: NAS/media storage for home movie collection ?

NAS/media storage for home movie collection ?

Hi, I am in need of some forum wisdom here. I have about 500 movie DVDs/boxed sets and a few blu rays I would like to put into a more easily stored form rather than have them filling up shelves in the house. I have no knowledge whatsoever of network storage or anything besides using an external hard drive so it is all totally new to me.

Firstly, how do I go about ripping a DVD or blu ray onto a hard drive, what software is best, what file format is best, and how much capacity will I need for 500 odd DVDs? And how long will each DVD take to rip and format correctly?

And second, any suggestions for how best to store all this media? I am thinking a small NAS that can live under the TV, maybe 2 red Western digitals in it?

Any and all help gratefully received.

Thanks

Ollie

The muddy edge of the biggest puddle in the uk

Re: NAS/media storage for home movie collection ?