Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Resurfacing a Silage slab

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    ireland
    Posts
    10

    Resurfacing a Silage slab

    Hi all,
    i'm resurfacing an old silage slab & need a bit of advice.
    is there any plans out there?
    would 4inch 35 N concrete be alright?
    presume i'd put steel into it?
    any advice appreciated,

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    M1 - M18 - M62 Triangle
    Posts
    703

    Re: Resurfacing a Silage slab

    Is the existing slab just eroded or are there sections which actually move ?
    There are more engines killed through lack of water than through lack of oil

  3. #3
    Senior Member grassmanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    888

    Re: Resurfacing a Silage slab

    Hi it depends what you're pouring the concrete on to, if it's sound just corroded and worn down concrete on it's own will last a long time. Putting in steel with 4 inches of concrete you run a real risk of it reappearing later down the line as concrete will corrode and scratch away.
    May be better to go 40N and forget steel and have concrete with a fine as possible stone, not gravel.

  4. #4
    Senior Member wr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Breconshire
    Posts
    931

    Re: Resurfacing a Silage slab

    If it were me, I'd be having a chat with the readymix rep to ask his advice first.
    Don't itch for something if you're not prepared to scratch for it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Quattromike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Moray
    Posts
    457

    Re: Resurfacing a Silage slab

    Get the barbourgreen in and lay some Tarmac
    "At the end of the day, I think it's going to get very dark."

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    ireland
    Posts
    10

    Re: Resurfacing a Silage slab

    Quote Originally Posted by grassmanman View Post
    Hi it depends what you're pouring the concrete on to, if it's sound just corroded and worn down concrete on it's own will last a long time. Putting in steel with 4 inches of concrete you run a real risk of it reappearing later down the line as concrete will corrode and scratch away.
    May be better to go 40N and forget steel and have concrete with a fine as possible stone, not gravel.
    yeah i think you're right. it's full off cracks as it is, but ill go with 40N no steel

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    ireland
    Posts
    10

    Re: Resurfacing a Silage slab

    Quote Originally Posted by Quattromike View Post
    Get the barbourgreen in and lay some Tarmac
    i'd imagine Tarmac would not last?
    you mean asphalt?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    838

    Re: Resurfacing a Silage slab

    Quote Originally Posted by jfh View Post
    i'd imagine Tarmac would not last?
    Had one done with Tarmac 25 years ago and it's still almost as good as the day it was laid.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •