Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Concrete....Cement

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Northumbrialand
    Posts
    1,236

    Concrete....Cement

    Needing to put a slope on some existing concrete.....Cattle pens.
    How thin can I go?
    Two inches with a cement type mix rather than a concrete mix?
    Exploring possibilities.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Tasmania
    Posts
    767

    Re: Concrete....Cement

    Quote Originally Posted by Gee View Post
    Needing to put a slope on some existing concrete.....Cattle pens.
    How thin can I go?
    Two inches with a cement type mix rather than a concrete mix?
    Exploring possibilities.
    I've never had experience with cattle pens, but if you are not using reinforcing (why would you, on existing concrete?) I think 2 in would be the minimum. I presume by "cement mix" you mean a screed of sand & cement, no aggregate. Ok if you want a smooth finish, but a sniff of 12mm aggregate would be more likely to provide a non-slip surface, at least for a while.

    From my experience, the most important factor is for the new surface to bond to the old, especially if the screed is 2 ins or less. When we put a screed of sand/cement on the house floor to level it up for tiles, I was strongly advised to "sparrow peck" the existing surface to ensure a key. Used a cheap SDS hammer drill to create the roughened surface & it seems to have worked. If the surface of the pens is already rough, maybe a power wash would be adequate. Or maybe consider a concrete bonding agent.

    More than you ever wanted to know

    JV

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    over the edge
    Posts
    54

    Re: Concrete....Cement

    it might work at 2 inches but through practice 4 inch would be better as 2 inch will start to lift & break off imho

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Northumbrialand
    Posts
    1,236

    Re: Concrete....Cement

    Quote Originally Posted by flywheel View Post
    it might work at 2 inches but through practice 4 inch would be better as 2 inch will start to lift & break off imho
    Thinking about 3 down to 2 over 20 ft

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    477

    Re: Concrete....Cement

    Is the areas going to subjected to any freeze-thaw? significant temperature differences for the two layers (bottom layer at ground temperature and top layer receiving heat? - thinking of expansion-contraction causing the bond between the two being compromised)

    What size stone were you planning on using?

    What does your concrete supplier recommend?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Northumbrialand
    Posts
    1,236

    Re: Concrete....Cement

    Quote Originally Posted by Ironhead View Post
    Is the areas going to subjected to any freeze-thaw? significant temperature differences for the two layers (bottom layer at ground temperature and top layer receiving heat? - thinking of expansion-contraction causing the bond between the two being compromised)

    What size stone were you planning on using?

    What does your concrete supplier recommend?
    Stone size will need to be small because of the shallow depth. No more than 10mm.
    Part of the reason for the cement thought.
    Not spoken to supplier yet, know what the answer will be......too thin, not possible.
    Did some mods a few years ago along side of feed passage.....6 inches down to nothing onto existing concrete, was advised at the time that it would chip and break away.....but nothing happened yet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •