Thread: 'Hypothetical' rotation

The ruminant

'Hypothetical' rotation

I've been daydreaming about the perfect rotation for improving the soils, improving fertility, OM levels, etc.

I am not a cropping expert - far from it - but as a starting point have come up with the following hypothetical rotation, assuming there are no limiting factors (eg cattle can be used everywhere, fences and water are good, capital is not restricted etc):

Yr 1 - Milling wheat (d/d'd), followed by:
    Yr1 / yr2 - Forage turnips - d/d'd after wheat, strip-grazed by cattle, then in the spring:
    Yr 2 - Spring Malting Barley, d/d'd and undersown with clover, followed by:
    Yr3 & Yr 4 - Itallian ryegrass/westerwolds, mob-grazed by cattle, followed by:
    Yr 5 Oilseed rape, autocasted or d/d'd

Given that most of you on the d/d page know soils and know cropping, what do you think? What would you change? What would you throw your hands up in horror at?

My thinking is that you'd have cow muck 'applied' to the soils at the end of year one, and again in year's three and four (and possibly at the back end of year 2 also) Therefore, huge amounts of manure being added to the soils. Additionally, mob-grazing has been proven elsewhere to increase soil OM. The combinable crops are high value crops which would require little or no inputs, given the improving fertility of the soil. Finally, the deeper rooting turnips help with soil structure (albeit the cattle on the land in winter might have a negative effect unless managed carefully.

Soil type would be medium to heavyish clays.

martian

Re: 'Hypothetical' rotation

Sounds spot on, certainly planning along those lines...not sure though about how to mob graze the winter covers. Isn't the idea that you only let them on a tiny area for 48 hours? Do you spend your winters moving electric fencing?

martian

ps aren't you meant to webinaring?

marco