Thread: Ford 7740 SLE shuttle lever problem.

Reverse problen on Ford 7740 SLE Powerstar 4wd

Hi everyone,
    I have a Ford 7740 SLE Powerstar 4wd and the problem i have is the shuttle lever not working right.
    The reverse gear sometimes does not engage very well, crunching when u release the clutch.
    Is anyone able to inform me of the adjustment needed and how to go about it.

Ford 7740 SLE shuttle lever problem.

Hi everyone,
    I am new to this and i hope someone may be able to help me out some. I have a Ford 7740 SLE Powerstar 4wd,with cab and a 16 speed transmission. The problem i have is the shuttle lever not working right.
    The reverse gear sometimes doesnot engage very well, crunching when u release the clutch.

Re: Ford 7740 SLE shuttle lever problem.

Quote Originally Posted by Kayrick View Post
    Hi everyone,
    I am new to this and i hope someone may be able to help me out some. I have a Ford 7740 SLE Powerstar 4wd,with cab and a 16 speed transmission. The problem i have is the shuttle lever not working right.
    The reverse gear sometimes doesnot engage very well, crunching when u release the clutch.
    Does it happen when 4wd is off?

Yes, sure does. On start up first thing of a morning and nearly every time you select reverse gear during use.

Wasn't one or more levers on SLE's connected to bowden cables? IIRC one trait was two small allen bolts coming loose on the alloy adjusting sleeve- the cable will work ok in one direction but the other way the play from the loose allen bolts would result in effecting how it shifted- could be your crunching??
    The best thing about Facebook is the logout button......

Foots Fitter's answer is the best way to go first, the aero chocolate alloy cone that holds the bowden cable in place over the top of the transmission may have worked loose or fractured.