Thread: Student Assignment - how might BREXIT affect beef suckler herds in the UK?

Post Student Assignment - how might BREXIT affect beef suckler herds in the UK?

As a student i have been given an assignment to research what might happen to the beef sucker herds in the UK, what are the benefits of staying or leaving the EU? and any further information would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Student Assignment - how might BREXIT affect beef suckler herds in the UK?

if the government chooses, and I expect they will, free access to beef from the America's North and South. The future for UK Beef production looks absolutely dire
    Ixworth Solar Farming Ltd.

Quote Originally Posted by Exfarmer View Post
    if the government chooses, and I expect they will, free access to beef from the America's North and South. The future for UK Beef production looks absolutely dire
    With all the chemicals the Americans are permitted to inject / feed their cattle, you don't want beef (or milk or cheese) from the US

Quote Originally Posted by Ironhead View Post
    With all the chemicals the Americans are permitted to inject / feed their cattle, you don't want beef (or milk or cheese) from the US
    You're right, we don't want it but fear we will be sold out by the politicians and the consumers will buy on price like they always do.

Quote Originally Posted by Paw View Post
    You're right, we don't want it but fear we will be sold out by the politicians and the consumers will buy on price like they always do.
    I hear ya - we just went through the USMCA (formerly NAFTA) negotiations and all some people could see was the price of milk - they didn't seem to care what chemicals was added to get more milk or the 73% (on average) subsidy US farmers received from the various levels of government.

Quote Originally Posted by Ironhead View Post