Thread: Best all round antibiotic for sheep?

Best all round antibiotic for sheep?

Hi folks. I am new to sheep only started last year. What is the best antibiotic to keep for foot problems, after a bad lambing, prolapse, pneumonia etc. at the moment I have been using Norbrook Alymicin LA for lame ewes. Is this the right choice?

Re: Best all round antibiotic for sheep?

Mainly yes.

It depends on if you have enough sheep to justify getting your vet to recommend maybe 4 or 5 different antibiotics for various diseases,
    Draxin is much more effective for mastitis, but very expensive.

Draxin is a good drug for lameness, another the same is zuprevo, and a bit cheaper i think too? could be wrong, have great results with this, works on pasterella, and one of the best for calf pneumonia so would guess one of the better ones for sheep pneumonia too

Alymicin la is good, tend to use this for any that are not badly lame, or any lambs that are lame or have a swelling.

Use Betamox on any ewes i have lambed, or any lambs that maybe get wet mouth. dont tend to inject any prolapse ewes, maybe im wrong to do so, i normally mix a weak detol solution and clean it gently before putting it back.

I keep a bottle of vit B1 for any that go down with CCN, or break into a pheasant feeder, or maybe eats bracken.

For mastitis i use Metacam and Tilan, although if i don't happen to catch it right away find limited success with anything to save that teat.

Hope this helps a bit, and all the best with your new flock

I have always just alternated between a penecillin and a tetracycline based LA antibiotic

800 breeding ewes and i get through about 2 bottles a year---use whatever i have for all problems, feet/mastitis/wounds /whatever

Betamox LA for most things. Once had to use Zactran for foot rot.

Have bottle of Zactran for Pnumonia ,certainly ewes that are weak and vunrable and need cover and also mastitis.

Penacilin based for lysteria ,aborted ewes and those that are slow to clense.