Thread: Glycerine in cattle diet? Biodiesel byproduct.

Glycerine in cattle diet? Biodiesel byproduct.

One of the by-products of biodiesel production, is glycerine. I have been doing some low level investigations and see that there has been some works suggesting that glycerine can be included in animal diets up to about 10% DM, but that lower levels of around 5-7.5% may be more appropriate...

I am looking to start some trial biodiesel production here for DERV use and will have the glycerine available, and to me, lobbing it into the mollasses container and feeding it makes much more sense than putting it on the muck heap!! Anyone here tried glycerine for fat/store cattle??
    steveR formerly known as dexterbeef!

Re: Glycerine in cattle diet? Biodiesel byproduct.

Yes fed pre and post-calving to prevent ketosis in high yielding Holsteins. However, it was bought from a proper feed merchant. I am no expert but I understand that as a raw byproduct of biodiesel it can contain a high level of impurities (can't remember what) which can lead to problems. Therefore it needs to come from a reputable source and I think its use as a feed product is regulated. If you have been doing some research you should have seen some articles about this.?

For this reason http://www.defra.gov.uk/ahvla-en/dis...abp/biodiesel/ states that glycerine from non-approved biodiesel plants cannot be used for animal feeding.

Quote Originally Posted by Joules View Post
    Yes fed pre and post-calving to prevent ketosis in high yielding Holsteins. However, it was bought from a proper feed merchant. I am no expert but I understand that as a raw byproduct of biodiesel it can contain a high level of impurities (can't remember what) which can lead to problems. Therefore it needs to come from a reputable source and I think its use as a feed product is regulated. If you have been doing some research you should have seen some articles about this.?