Thread: Does anyone bother about BVD status when buying in cattle?

Does anyone bother about BVD status when buying in cattle?

I've been tagging and testing for BVD for several years now and when i sell calve or store cattle i always tell the auctioneer that they are tagged with DNA tags and BVD free. It seems to me that both they and the potential bidders then look at me as if i've told them the cattle have been blessed with magic fairy dust or something, it never makes any difference to the price. when the consequences of buying in a PI animal are so serious, you'd think people would set more store in it.

I wonder why no one seems to bother about BVD in my part of England at least, is it because there's a lack of awareness about the problem because there's not been an eradication programme like in Scotland and Ireland? Id disease status something you consider when buying cattle, or do you just take pot luck?

Re: Does anyone bother about BVD status when buying in cattle?

Often there is not much option other than to buy in untested stock due to lack of choice. If you are buying in several animals at one mart and only a couple are BVD clear and the rest untested you will be having to mix them anyway so the clear status becomes less important.

Quote Originally Posted by Barney View Post
    Often there is not much option other than to buy in untested stock due to lack of choice. If you are buying in several animals at one mart and only a couple are BVD clear and the rest untested you will be having to mix them anyway so the clear status becomes less important.